Tags

, , , , ,

Hello and welcome back to the Salamanca Jacket sew along! Today we are cutting our fashion fabric and applying interfacing (steps 1 -4 of the instructions).

I am cutting out my unlined version first using a lighter weight denim with the slightest stretch. Last year, I sewed up this suit for my daughter with the same fabric.

madisuit

The fabric sews and wears beautifully. After sewing her suit I purchased the remaining yard of fabric from the local Joann’s and that with about 1 1/4 yards left from the suit was enough to cut out my jacket pieces.

If you are sewing up an unlined version you can skip cutting any lining pieces, still cut out all the facing pieces and corresponding interfacing though. When I cut my lined version, I will cut all the pieces again including the lining pieces.

I use a rotary cutter and mat to cut out my fashion fabric keeping all the pattern, fabric and interfacing pieces together. One of the things on my to buy list is a large continuous cutting mat so I do not have to move my pieces around when cutting.

After cutting I then lay out my pieces with wrong sides up and using a press cloth, I apply any interfacing.

frontsreadytofuse

Applying the interfacing this time was super quick and easy as I used my new Reliable Steam iron which I won!! I registered early for this sewing event and earned an extra entry for a $500 prize from Reliable! With the $500 I ordered this iron and a work light. So cool. I had unpacked the iron about two weeks ago and have just been waiting to use it. This was the first time I did and it was amazing. It made very short work of fusing interfacing!

newsteamiron

After applying the interfacing to the appropriate fabric pieces, which this is the fist time in my sewing life I wished there was more to fuse :), I went back and snipped all notches, my pleat lines on the back piece and marked all pattern markings with a Frixion erasable pen. (They are on sale right now at Joann’s.) This way, I will not lose any snips or markings when they are covered by interfacing or erased by the heat of the iron. Remember, the notches and pattern markings are essential for later construction so take the time to get this part right!

Next week we will begin construction so thread up your sewing machines or sergers, wind your bobbins, pick out your buttons, and tidy up your area if need be! And, if you get the chance, please post pictures of your work in progress over on the Itch to Stitch fb page.

See you next week!

A reminder: Kennis has graciously offered up a couple of prizes from her shop and will be available to answer questions via her fb page. To be eligible for the prize, you must complete the sew along. Also, she is offering 20% off the Salamanca pattern for those who want to sew along. Discount code is: salamancasal and is valid until 4/15/16. Pattern is available here.

March 16th – Introductory Post

March 18th – Determining size, preparing pattern, fabric choices Post

March 23rd – Making a muslin and adjusting fit issues Post

March 25th – Cutting fashion fabric, applying interfacing, preparing to sew

March 30th – Sew outer shell, sew lining shell

April 1st – Attaching hem facing, sewing lining to outer shell

April 8th – Sleeves, attaching yoke

April 13th – Adding closures

April 20th  – Gallery of finishes, prizes awarded!

See you on Friday!

P.S. Come join us for sew a long fun at Sewalongs and Sewing Contest fb page! A fun group of sewists who come together quarterly to sew seasonal wardrobe pieces! Oh, and there are prizes!

 

 

