Tags

, , , , , , ,

Click to Purchase!

Click to Purchase!

Today, Deby over at So Sew Easy released her newest bag, the Crossbody Bag. As a pattern tester for Deby I had the chance to make up a version of this bag earlier in the month.

For the project I wanted to use up some half yard cuts of the beautiful cotton and steel fabric in my stash so I had to be somewhat careful in the fabric layout and choices but everything turned out fabulous! This bag would be super cute quilted.

crossbodyinside

As bag making goes, I would rate it an advanced beginner bag pattern BUT challenging enough that an experienced bag maker would enjoy sewing it up and they could do so in quick time. However, a complete beginner would do okay with some patience! Deby also has a video which walks one through the bag construction step by step.

The fabric and color combinations are really endless and it is possible to chance up or add to both the interior and exterior pockets. My daughter, who is 18, loves the bag design and so do I. It has multi generational appeal. I like those kinds of patterns because they save me money!

crossbody - Copy

Here is something I especially appreciate about Deby’s patterns. Either through trial and error or her expanding experience she finds clever and easily understandable ways to present sewing techniques. Even though I have been sewing for a while now, I learned several new techniques when making this bag; making faux piping handles which I love, love, love and can easily add to any bag and, how to easily add double exterior pockets. The other pretty cool thing about Deby’s patterns is price which is pretty darn reasonable! The pattern sells for only $6.75. A real deal for sure!

The pattern can be purchased by clicking the top picture in this post. Hope you give it a try and I know you will enjoy it as much as I have!

crossbodyinside2

xoxo

P.S. Join us over at our fb page, Sew A Longs and Sewing Contests! A group of like minded sewists coming together to chat, post about our SAL experiences and sometimes come together to sew something!

